Generating dummy data

Update on my little side project

What is there not to love about JSON? I love this data format and how flexible it is. So my project requires customer information to be stored in a table.

My UI was inspired by this SB-admin-2 and so to create the dummy data I used Generatedata.com and it saved me so much time!

  1. Head on over to Generatedata.com and skip to the generator image.png
  2. Enter the data type, column title, and options image.png Hot tip! For Namibian telephone providers, under Options input +264 81 xxx xxx and +264 85 xxx xxx
  3. Select the output type (in our case HTML) image.png
  4. You can then generate the number of rows and generate the data. You should have something like this
    <table>
     <tr>
         <th>Name & Surname</th>
         <th>Company Name</th>
         <th>E-mail</th>
         <th>Work Phone</th>
         <th>Receivables</th>
         <th>Unused Credit</th>
     </tr>
     <tr>
         <td>Gray Mills</td>
         <td>Dui Ltd</td>
         <td>eleifend.nunc.risus@icloud.edu</td>
         <td>+264 81 679 9127</td>
         <td>$41.42</td>
         <td>$67.52</td>
     </tr>
    

So to arrange the data, get the filter functionality and sorting feature I used the DataTables. In the project, I was trying to limit jQuery dependencies since Bootstrap 5 does not require jQuery as a dependency anymore! I also got tired of using Font-Awesome icons so for this project I used Boxicons and I am loving it.

I finally fixed my shift key issue. All I had to do was switch the keyboard from US to UK. This is a common Dell issue, but I am glad I fixed it.

See you in the next one.